Poner Los Cuernos

by acacianunes

Today in my cinema class we learned the expression “poner los cuernos.”  The literal translation means to put the horns.  However in Spain, poner los cuernos means to tell someone that their husband or wife is having an affair.  This seemingly out of context learning experience was due to the movie Belle Epoque that we are watching in our history of Spanish cinema class.

Tonight while I was watching a televised interview with Spanish writer Antonio Gala, who tends to write love novels, the expression poner los cuernos arose during one of his answers.

If it weren’t for my cinema class today, not only would I had been confused by the translation “to put the horns,” I also probably would have completely overlooked the sentence.

ME ENCANTA APRENDIENDO!

